Our Rehearsal Dinner

The best day ever before the best day ever…

You guys. I’m not exaggerating when I say “best”. I’ll admit, I like to be a little dramatic sometimes and stretch the truth for a better story, but THIS TIME I MEAN IT. Swear.

The day before our wedding was a dream. Some of our family and friends came trickling into town a couple days before, so Friday morning (this day) we decided to go for an early morning surf sesh at Cowell’s. It was sunny and glassy, and everyone was in great spirits (including myself; which is a big deal because it was north of 6am when I woke up).

IMG_5327.jpg
I promise it was sunnier than it looked…

We caught some epic, long, fun rides. Muy divertido party waves with the amigos! And we had some of our crew who chose not to surf up at the top of the cliff, cheering us on. After that, all salty and sandy, we all headed over to Zach and I’s favorite breakfast spot in Santa Cruz: Walnut Cafe. The rest of our bridal party started showing up into town so we parked at a table for oh, three hours? The coffee was a-flowin’ and the laughs were a-growin’.

After that, we all got ready and headed over to the wedding venue to set up and rehearse. This was supposed to be the lamest part of the day, cause, #work, but it ended up being THEE most fun. I was in the goofiest mood just in heaven having all of my favorite people in one place. Even if we were setting up chairs.

As we were rehearsing the ceremony, I practiced walking down the spiral staircase and saw Zach’s shining little face smiling up to me, my heart skipped a beat, and I had my first “oh sheee*t this is getting real” moment. In the best way possible.

AND THEN!  It was rehearsal dinner time so we all caravaned to the Carmichael’s humble abode of 42 acres. Michelle (Zach’s mom) did an outstanding job putting together a luau-themed dinner. A little local gem, Aloha Grill, catered the not-so-small gathering of 50, and we sipped mai-tai’s and Longboard lagers.

[Fun fact: the property where we had this dinner was our original wedding venue plan. I wanted an enchanted forest wedding but unfortunately, it was a little bit too much work to logistically make it happen. Still absolutely stunning, though.]

sudfeldwedding-1006 (1)sudfeldwedding-1008 (1)sudfeldwedding-1007 (1)sudfeldwedding-1005 (1)sudfeldwedding-1002 (1)sudfeldwedding-1003 (1)sudfeldwedding-1001 (1)sudfeldwedding-1004 (1)sudfeldwedding-1011 (1).jpgsudfeldwedding-1021 (1)sudfeldwedding-1022 (2)sudfeldwedding-1009 (1)

It was a complete surprise, but Sarah, (Zach’s youngest sister), made us a video documenting our love story. She played it for us, and it was hands down one of the highlights of the weekend.

Check it out:


sudfeldwedding-1012 (1)sudfeldwedding-1019 (1)sudfeldwedding-1014 (1)sudfeldwedding-1018 (1)sudfeldwedding-1020 (1)

Our lovely photographers, Morgan and her assistant Levi, were also able to come by and snap some extra photos of us in preparation for our big day! How fiiiiiine is my man tho?!

sudfeldwedding-1023 (1)sudfeldwedding-1038 (1)sudfeldwedding-1037 (1)sudfeldwedding-1027 (1)sudfeldwedding-1032 (1)sudfeldwedding-1024 (1)sudfeldwedding-1030 (1)sudfeldwedding-1031 (2)

It was approximately that time when all the parentals left the building and the youths brought out the dranks. We stayed up til’ about 2 having impromptu dance parties and spontaneous toasts/ speeches about Zach and I that made us cry laughing. Things got a little turnt, and there were some people that were hurting the next day, but I honestly wouldn’t trade it for anyyyything. 10/10 day.

My advice to those who are getting married is: don’t neglect the importance of the rehearsal day/night. It should be viewed as a no-pressure, let-your-hair-down event with your friends. The next day will be filled with some stress and a lot of small-talking with your great uncles’ second cousins, but the rehearsal is meant to just relax and have a blast with the homiest of homies. You won’t regret it!

I wish you have too, the best day ever before the best day ever.

xo,

Kara

Leave a comment